Cheap lighting setup for food photography?

nicolas_steenhout

Hello all,

I hope this is the right place to post in. I've searched the forums but could not find the answer I was looking

for. I'll admit I might have missed posts discussing my request, please feel free to point me to existing threads.

I have recently been gifted with a Sony Alpha 350, and a 50mm 2.8 macro lens. This is a journey back into

photography for me after nearly 20 years away (my old beat up Leica M3 and assorted lenses were stolen, didn't

have the heart to re-equip).

I worked as a chef for nearly 15 years and while I don't work that industry anymore, I still have fun exploring

culinary creations and presentation. I took some snapshots of dishes I created the last couple years, but with

this new camera, the bug has taken over me again and I'd like to get properly setup to do more food photography.

Hence, I need decent lighting equipment.

The problem is, I am on a (very tight) budget. I would love to hear any suggestion as to lighting solutions that

involve affordable (or near-free) options.

I will be wanting to get some "proper" equipment, I'm currently thinking three lights (I prefer continuous

lighting over flash). Diffusers. I've come across some "tents" in my searches and this seems like an appealing

solution, but probably too limiting in terms of sizes to be practical for the kind of photos I'm looking at doing.

Please bear in mind that I'm in New Zealand, so product sources in the US are not practical for me (especially

with the 220V current).

Thanks in advance for any ideas or assistance you might provide.

Nic

Hi Nicolas,