jamesclick

I'm new to Photo.net and am interested in wildlife photography, mainly birds.

I started my digital photography with a Canon Rebel XT and a EF70-300mm lens. I have an EOS 20D, 40D, 50D and a 5D Mk.II, plus my trusty Powershot G10. I also have an EF 28-80mm f3.5-5.6 II, 2 EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 II's and 100-400mm f4.5-5.6 L IS (=Canon Extender EF 1.4x).

For years I used the Pentax Spotmatic F and sometimes use Super Takumar/Takumar 50mm f1.8 and f1.4, 105mm/135mm f2.8 scew lenses on my Canon. Using these lenses in Manual mode is still a work in progress.

Two weeks ago I picked up a Silver Rebel XTi for $35, plus an EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6 II and an EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS (totalling $86). I am quite pleased as the XTi has a fairly low shutter count. After cleaning the sensor, it took beautiful shots, despite my being so shaky.

Edited by jamesclick

I use Manual Aperture and Manual Focus lenses on my Canon DSLRs and Canon Mirrorless Cameras. I am not sure what pointers you might require, perhaps specifying any difficulties you are having would be a good idea.

As a general comment, the Manual Lenses I use range from ultra wide to short telephoto, all were acquired for their extremely fast apertures and mainly used in low light and or for extremely narrow DoF, mainly for Portraiture or Building Interiors.

Wildlife Photography (which I don't do much) is akin to Sports Photography (which I do) - I use fast Canon Lenses with fast AF.

WW