Canon 24-70L f/2.8 II

Mrcreem

I, like many others it seems, am debating whether to purchase a Canon 24-70mm f/2.8L or the 24-70L F/4. I am an amateur photographer with no studio. Most of my pictures are taken while traveling, outdoors or inside places of interest. I have had a 28-135 forever that I want to upgrade. I have read dozens of reviews from both professional and amateurs, alike. While the 2.8 gets wonderful reviews for IQ, it ALWAYS gets knocked for not having IS. Despite this knock, I cannot find one review that describes the implication of not having IS. Since everyone is raving about IQ, should I just assume that the IS is not a factor at all? Even Ken Rockwell,who seems to detest tripods, recommends that everyone should get the 2.8. Should I assume from this that shake is not an issue? If shake is not an issue, why is everyone knocking the lack of IS? I am worried about spending $1,700 for this lens if shake will be a problem. If anyone out there owns this lens, could you please offer some practical advice?

On the other hand, I am very intrigued by the size, weight and macro feature of the 24-70mmL f4. I have the 16-35mm L f/4 experience no problems whatsoever with light, even indoors. I use a Canon 6D.

Any insights will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Mitch

For static (non moving) subjects, the F4 lens with IS will have at least a 2 stop advantage over the F2.8 lens. For subjects that move, the F2.8 lens has a 1 stop advantage over the F4 Lens. The F2.8 Mk II is purported to be sharper than the F4 variant, but is heavier. I think those are the important factors. If you do not earn a living with your camera, the Canon F4L lenses are attractive alternatives.
  • Like 1