Can I use this lens

christine_chapman1

<p>Hi all I am a complete newby, and have been given a Nikon 3100 as a gift, I also have acquired a Tamron 80-210 lens. As it came, it doesnt appear to fit the body of the Nikon, I have been advised that it can be fitted using rings, Please help what kind of rings do I need.<br>

Many thanks and kindest regards Chris</p>

<p>Tamron makes lenses with different mounts for different brands of camera, and in the old days like 1970's, Tamron used to make lenses with add-on mounts to fit different brands. If you can capture images of that lens, especially show us the rear mount area, perhaps we can help.</p>

<p>However, unless that Tamron lens already has a Nikon mount, it is not worthwhile. It sounds like it is a very old lens that is not going to auto focus or even meter with your D3100.</p>

<p>If you're talking about a Tamron Adaptall 2 CF Tele Macro BBAR MC, that's actually a pretty good lens in terms of image quality. It's also very well made and not too heavy. If you see an Adaptall 2 Nikon adapter cheap (or a broken lens with the adapter on it that you can get cheaply), pick it up and try it.</p>

<p>The limitations would be that the lens does not autofocus, and on your camera it won't operate the meter, so you'd have to put the camera in manual and figure out the exposure yourself.</p>