Buying a medium format TLR camera.

Discussion in 'Medium Format' started by christian_muro, Jun 23, 2009.

1. I just started shooting medium format film. I am used to using a TLR (Yashica MAT 124G) but it was not mine and I had to reserve before using it. Instead of going through all that trouble I was wondering if anyone knew where I can buy a excelent or decent TLR for around $100 or less? Since I am a student I am on a tight budget. (I have been to www.keh.com but their cameras were way to expensive. I have also visited www.ebay.com and searched for several medium format TLRs but either they were to expensive or the camera was disfunctional.) By the way, I have learned that HOLGA will be releasing Holga 120 TLR in August which would sell for about $59.99 at Freestyle Photographic Supplies (www.freestylephoto.biz) the only problem with this is that they are plastic cameras with plastic lenses and I would much prefer a metal base with glass lenses. (This is because I might be shooting Infrared film in medium format) Any suggestions are welcomed, thanks.

2. Steer clear of holgas for your first TLR, Christian. Condition is a big factor in selecting any used camera. While KEH is a bit more money, they rate equipment conservatively and offer money back if not pleased. That's a good situation for your first TLR. The Minolta Autocord, in good condition, should be near your price range as well as the various flavors of Ricohflexes.