Arista B&W Developer Mishap

Hello -

I have been processing my B&W for close to 17 years and this is a first.

I have two Arista sealed 12oz bottles I had purchased on April 12th, 2016. They have been stored in between 62-68F all the time. I used this in the recommended 1:9 mix from the bottle instructions. The late afternoon light was perfect this Sunday and I shot a roll of apx 100.

After processing in this combo for 7mins at 68F all I got was a blank negative strip :((. Correction, after very carefully looking, I can see a couple of frames with very faint tree top images, and the sun in one direct sun exposure.

It was very annoying :(, probably my own doing? My go-to developer is Rodinal in 1:25, and the last bottle lasted me a good 5-6 years! Have I been spoiled by Rodinal or do you think this Arista Developer is rubbish? 2 Years and sealed, should account for some longevity, no? What do you think?

84404691_PhotoJan0685855PM.thumb.jpg.20b2b35d9e9b8416884147bf647295a8.jpg

First of all, just to rule out a camera malfunction, how do the edge markings looks?

With that said, this is one of those reasons why I'm often leery of "house brand" B&W developers unless I know that they're intended to replicate. When it comes to concentrates, we know that Rodinal basically lasts forever and HC-110 just a few years shy of that.

If you bought the developer in April 2016, it's at least approaching 3 years old if not longer than that(who knows how long they had it in stock). One would hope that a sealed bottle would be good for that long, but without knowing the specific chemistry it's hard to say. The MSDS(Freestyle should fix that, as MSDSs are now a thing of the past) lists hydroquinone, so presumably it's a Metol-Hydroquinone type developer. I don't THINK it's intended to replicate HC-110, as it lacks a lot of the things that are listed in the HC-110 MSDS(again, Kodak needs to fix/update that to comply with GHS standards) that presumably make HC-110 so "syrupy."