Are any corrections applied to RAW image data in-camera?

frank_f.

<p>I'm a very novice shooter, and I'm trying to set up a workflow for post-processing my images. Right now, I'm looking to get a definitive answer as to which (if any) optical distortion corrections are applied to RAW image data.<br /><br />Specifically, it has been my working assumption that, when shooting in RAW, it's the the actual light readings as measured by the sensor that are recorded--a true digital negative--and the whole point of shooting in RAW in the first place. Therefore, things like white balance, picture style, noise correction settings, peripheral illumination correction, red eye correction, etc., are either saved in the EXIF data so they can be applied in DPP/ViewNX/CaptureNX during post-production, or applied in-camera only to JPGs.<br /><br />I was recently shopping for a new camera, and the salesman at the store told me that I was wrong, and that all of those corrections are made to the actual RAW image data, and if I was correcting for them in post-production, then I was double-correcting for these things. I like to use DxO, if that matters.<br /><br />So I am looking to see if someone can give me a definitive answer as to which (if any) of the following corrections (specifically any optical distortion corrections) are applied to RAW image data (for both Canon and Nikon):</p>

<ol>

<li>Noise correction settings like high-ISO noise correction</li>

<li>White balance</li>

<li>Color space / Picture style (standard, vivid, neutral, etc.) </li>

<li>Red-eye reduction</li>

<li>Peripheral illumination (vignetting) correction (Canon)</li>

<li>Highlight tone priority (Canon)</li>

<li>Auto Lighting Optimizer (Canon)</li>

<li>Active D-lighting (Nikon)</li>

<li>Auto Distortion Control (Nikon)</li>

</ol>

<p>as well as any other applicable settings you can think of.</p>