7D Mk II v 5D mk II (*yes, II*) in low light

<p>Hi, chaps,<br>

I'm looking to replace my 5D Mk I as my second body (I also have a 5D Mk II). My question is, is the 7D Mk II better than my current 5D Mk II (yes, Mark Two), specifically when used in low light?<br>

I'm a wedding photographer in the UK, so I'm often bumping up my ISO and using my lenses at f2.8. I'd love to be able to bump up my ISO further without compromising on quality. I know the 5D Mk III is excellent at low light, but I have a sweet EF-S 10-22mm lens I haven't been able to use since my 20D days, which I'd love to use again if the 7D Mk II proves worth it. I'm asking about comparison with the 5D Mk II because I know what that the results are like, day in, day out.<br>

Anyone have any experience? Could I risk the 7D Mk II or should I just go with the 5D Mk III, and wave bye-bye to my lovely lens?<br>

Thanks.</p>

<p>It's seen tests that suggest the 7D MkII is the best low light performer in the EOS range, followed by the 6D. This is in terms of both pattern noise and SNR. This was testing for astrophotography, which is generally pretty low light (!). I can't be sure the same would apply for Wedding Photography, which rarely takes place at night...</p>

<p>I own the 5D MkIII and the 7D MkII and owned the 5D MkII in the past. In my experience, the 5D2 and 3 beat the 7D2 in low light situations requiring ISOs above 1600. All of the above correct quite nicely with DxO Optics Pro, which I use as my Raw converter. I think that the 5D2 does well at ISO 3200 and even 6400. Still, the 7D2 isn't bad. Here's an ISO 6400 shot, taken after sundown:</p>

<p><a title="Coyote In The Grass by David Stephens, on Flickr" href=" Coyote In The Grass src="https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7326/16437263211_e3817f0916_c.jpg" alt="Coyote In The Grass" width="800" height="534" /></a></p>