5D

manty_cooper1

I currently own 20D and need to upgrade. I am seriously thinking about the 5D

as it has the bigger sensor.I am very frustrated with my 100mm f2.8 macro lens.

being magnified using the 20D. I find it very frustrating when shooting

portraits as I feel I am too far away from my subject. I also have the 17-40mm

f.4L lens. I generally shoot portrait and photo journalism and would like to

buy the 24-105mm f4 IS for more versatility. I am a very serious amateur.

Would I be right to think that the EOS 5D would be the right body for me to buy

along with the 24-105mm. If so I would rather wait for the upgrade as I feel

it must be around the corner. Does anybody know when the new 5D may come out?<div>00OeRF-42070484.jpg.cf601fc34781995c2eab37b2599665b0.jpg</div>

As for using the 24-105mm with a 5D, I don't think you're legally allowed to own one without the other. Seems like everyone with a 5D has a 24-105mm (including me). As for a new version of the 5D, it's anybody's guess. You may want to consider buying the current 5D when/if a new version is announced; it's already an excellent camera and the prices are bound to fall for both new and used examples. Some have argued that the 5D doesn't have all of the features that some of the newer models have, and that may be; but I would argue that not long ago I was using a light-tight box with a shutter a mirror and a prism, and not much else. Compared to that, the 5D is feature rich.

>>I am very frustrated with my 100mm f2.8 macro lens.<<

If you want to buy a 5D, by all means do so, but this reason is specious. Just buy the thing, nobody here will criticize you unless you somehow feel you have to rationalize the whole thing. This argument might work with your spouse, but it doesn't convince me of anything except that you want to buy a 5D.