40D software - do I need - can I use any of it?

jeff_harper3

<p>I am the happy owner of my first camera. Do I need any of the software that comes with it? </p>

<p>Available on the disc are: </p>

<p>Digital Photo Pro 3.3, Image Browser, EOS utility, PhotoStitch 3.2 and Picture Style Editor 1.2.</p>

<p>I hesitate to install anything without knowing more about it. As a video editor I try to keep my PC clear of all unnecessary software. </p>

<p>I appreciate any advice.</p>

<p>EOS Utility allows you to put your name so that info will be added to the EXIF. Also to add new picture style into the camera.<br>

DPP allows you to make correction in RAW, now you did mention you shoot jpg, but DPP alow you to correct; lens distortion, apply noise reduction, correct light fall off. Which you can do also in JPG as well but DPP makes it super easy. It's not that hard to shoot RAW really.</p>

<p>You don't <strong>need</strong> any of it.</p>

<ul>

<li><strong>Digital Photo Pro 3.3:</strong> is primarily for RAW image processing. If you don't shoot RAW, you don't really need it.</li>

<li><strong>Image Browser:</strong> Do you mean Zoom Browser? This, as the name suggests, is primarily an image viewer. It also allows you to do basic edits to the jpegs, e.g. lighten, darken, remove red-eye etc. Again, if you do not need it if you either have no need for those functions or already have software that you like using that can accomplish these tasks.</li>

<li><strong>EOS utility: </strong>This connects to the camera, and can be used for downloading images, uploading picture styles to the camera, adding your name/details to the camera and doing tethered shooting (remote control of the camera from a computer, via USB). Again, not strictly needed - but can be very useful.</li>

<li><strong>PhotoStitch 3.2</strong>: Software to stitch multiple images into a panorama. Not needed if you never do panos.</li>