200 ISO Shot at 400

Hello. Pardon me for the naivety of my question, but I just got my

first manual SLR camera this year and I am still learning. I am

hoping you might be able to help me.

By mistake I shot Kodak 200 at 400 ISO on my camera. Should I

definitely ask for push processing or can I take a gamble that they

still will come out okay?

Was it Negative or Positive film? and what type and brand? If it was negative just go for it and don't worry too much if it was Slide film then push 1 stop. Pushing Negative film is not normanly done by any mass retailer like Wal-Mart ... and if it is totaly important .. then use a Pro lab.

Shana, <br><br>

Don't apologize -- It's not a naive question: Many "professional" photographers make this mistake... And are clueless as to the handling by the lab! :)

<br><br>

As Larry wrote above, if it is color transparency (E6 slide) film, then you'll want to have it push processed to Exposure Index (EI) 400, often called "Push one stop to ISO 400," which any lab that actually does E6 processing (not just dropping the film into a Kodak or Fuji mailer) will do for you.

<br><br>

If it is color print film, the answer to mis-exposure is a bit more complicated. The reason is that the C41 processing -> RA4 printing process has a lot of lattitude, since mis-exposure of the film is compensated for -- To a degree -- in the printing step by changing the exposure of the paper.

<br><br>