problem may transfer to the film. Of course, the best way to know if

and to what extent the problem will manifest on the film is to test,

which I will do. However, I am interested to know if anyone has had

this type of situation? Did it have an affect on picture quality? Is

it a condition that gets worse? Any information would be helpful. I'm

not particulary afraid of less than pristine lenses. I have had some

very good results with some pretty crappy lenses, but those results

can not always be relied on with a bad lens. Again, any information

and experience shared is appreciated. Thank you.

Sure sounds like de-cementing to me too. I've only encountered this a few times and the look of it stays with you, it's a fairly unique-looking phenomenon.

Probably the most important factor is whether or not the elements have shifted at all while coming unglued. Seems almost impossible that they wouldn't have, but I'm not a big expert so I certainly can't say.

You're absolutely right to test the lens before making any big decisions about the thing. Could be that the worst thing that would happen would be a very slight increase in flare, which would be easily countered with a lens shade. In my early days using large format I used some pretty crappy lenses and got surprisingly good shots with them (still wish I had some of those lenses!) so the "proof is in the pudding". I've read various literature from 50 to 100 years ago that talks about various lens faults and how to deal with them, and it's surprising how much damage a lens can take before it really affects image quality. I've read that even a full fracture in a lens element doesn't necessarily mean the lens is unusable -- it'll just give more flare!

If you decide to have it re-cemented, I'd shop around and get some quotes. This can run a pretty penny and Grimes isn't the only fish in the sea. You might find a place that already has the "template" set up for the Raptar, and that alone could save quite a bundle.