michaeldaggett

I purchased the Digital Rebel 28 days ago, the camera store says I

can exchange it for the D20. It is going to cost me an additional

$600. I am very new to photography, but really like it. I have read

some reviews of the 20D and I admit I like it, but not sure why. I

have two thoughts, since I am so new, save the money, use the rebel

until I "need" to go to the 20D. And on the other hand, I like

having the "latest and greatest that I can afford" Am I going to

outgrow the Digital Rebal real soon? or and I just being silly..

Thoughs..

If I was was in your position I would trade up in a heartbeat. Better build, better ergonomics, a ton more features, 8.2 MP's, higher buffer, higher frame rate.. etc, etc... granted this is all dependent on if you'd actually use these features and you can afford it. If you're serious about getting into photography I wouldnt think twice about it... of course this is just my opinion :-)

Or, you could apply the $600 toward a couple lenses for your new Digital Rebel and get the Canon Triple Rebate (you are in the U.S., right?) When the individual rebates are tripled, that's $300 back for the camera, plus a minimum $45 per lens. There is no rebate on the 20D.

Lens! Lens! Lens! If your a newbie, use the DRebel until

you get the hang of ALL the features. The lens is the thing that makes the difference in image quality. Although the 20D may be 8.2mp and have a better buffer, you're not going to see a "world" of differences. Better lenses with a lower body ALWAYS than a better body with lower lens!

Mike, I totally agree with the other two:

1. I'd upgrade in a heart beat and get rid of the rebel for the 20D;

2. you won't need most of the features.

The baseline is that if you are serious about going into photography, then any camera that doesn't have full manual mode is a toss away. Since both of them have it, then you'll need to see what other function they have for the full manual mode (not anything else).