find anything on the advantage of the Nikon 24-85 2.8-4D over the

Sigma 24-70 2.8EX DG DF so I now feel I need to ask everyone's

opinion.

I am an advanced amateur photographer, using a Fuji Finepix S-2. I�m

looking for a sharp, full-length portrait lens and figured the 24-85

would be a good choice. My 50mm prime does a great job for head

shots, but I need to back away to about 15 feet to get a full length

portrait and this diminishes the intimate look (in my opinion) that

I find with the same lens mounted on my Nikon N80.

So, does anyone believe one of these lenses to be superior?

Thanks in advance.

Michael

Purely a subjective answer...I have the 24-85 f2.8-4 and it doesn't stand up to Nikon's top of the line lenses, it certainly isn't as good as your 50. I think of it as a party-snapshot lens. It's not just 'primes are better than zooms rhetoric, I'm very happy with other zooms I have (they're pro zooms though). I've heard lots of comments from people who like this lens just fine, but to me it just doesn't have the same quality. From my research I think I'll trade it for the 24-85 af-s, which is supposed to be better for 1) sharpness, 2) focusing, 3)color, but worse with distortion and of course speed.

I can't speak to the Sigma.