eigtball

Good Evening All,

I just wanted to toss out a question. I am thinking of going pro at

some point in my life. I am talking in the next four years. I plan

on making it my career, because I find thats all I can really think

about all the time. I mean, I want to do it because its what I

really love doing. Its the only thing right now that occupies my

mind, actually since September its really occupied my mind (I have

shot more rolls of film since then, than the past 2 years combined).

Is there any advice that I can heed now, so that I will be prepared

when the time comes. I mean I want to do it right and do it right

the first time. So any of you pro's out there, or even experienced

amatures wanna give me a bit of advice I am all ears. And I will be

coping this post, and saving it for later reference.

Thanks in advance!

Cheers,

Sean

Sean

I am a part time pro. That means I kept my day job because I wouldn't

be able to feed my family on my photography income. I would suggest

the following.

#1 Map out a business plan with all potential costs and income

#2 Find an experienced pro to review your plan and see if it is

accurate and feasable.

#3 Work like crazy to make it work

#4 Pray a lot

This isn't meant to discourage you . Far from it. Be passionate about

your work . Put your heart into it. Just make sure that you are

following your heart with your brains.

Good luck and God's light to you

Sean: obviously your love of photography has you thinking you would enjoy doing it full time. I'm not trying to sound discouraging, but the realities of making it as a pro require a lot more non-photographic work than most people expect.

My friend who is a very successful pro says his work is 20% photography and 80% promotion and marketing. A lot of great shooters do not have, or don't want to develop, the skills necessary to attend effectively to the business end of going pro.