antonio_hidalgo

Hello everybody! I'm a not profesional nature photographer and I�ll

travelling for first time(in the third week of July) to area of

Seattle,Wa.

I know that it�s not the best time to look raptors.But I wish to

know if have I good opportunity to find Bald Eagles? and which are the

best locations (near Seattle and nearby islands) to photograph Bald

Eagles and wildlife in summer? Or definitely ,have I what conform

only with landscapes of Mountain and city scapes?

I have a 400/f5.6 lens(and wide lens to landscapes) and I think rent

a big glass like a 500 or 600/f4 to bird and wildlife shots. I am

looking for advice from those who have photographed bald eagles(and

other birds) in the area near to Seattle? Same to Mountain landscapes

and city scapes?

I thank you for all your answers.

Antonio Hidalgo, June

Antonio,

I live on Whidbey Island. It's about a 20 mile drive to the ferry landing in Mukilteo and then a short 20 minute ferry ride to the island itself. From the ferry your only about 5 miles from the town of Freeland and the Freeland Park. This is really a great place to shoot a few eagle shots. One is nesting right above the park parking lot right now and at times i've seen as many as 10 flying all over in the trees at one time. If this fails you all you need to do is drive another 40 miles to the other end of the island and hit the deception pass state park and you should also have good luck. One thing to remember is that the island has Eagle populations pretty much from end to end and all you need to do is drive slow and keep your eyes open.... I know that living on the island i see at least one every day but most of the time i'll see more than that.

If you have anymore questions please email me and i'll see if i can help you out.

Good luck.

Gordy Koetje

Antonio,