best tripod

fju

i would like to buy my first tripod. i have no knowledge whatsoever

about these and have no idea what to look for so i'm asking for

advice on which one to get.

i'll be shooting portraits (mostly indoors) with a 35mm slr, so i

need something that can support the camera in a vertical position.

i'm not too concerned with weight, but i don't want something that's

heavier than necessary.

i don't mind buying something used either, and i'm hoping to find

something under $100, though i'll spend more if it's really necessary.

thank you in advance.

You're going to have trouble finding anything new under 100 dollars that will keep you satisfied for long. If you go a little over that, though, the Slik 400DX Pro is very nice, light enough to haul around, reasonably sturdy, and pretty versatile. It's made of metal, with good fit and finish. A little more gets you the 700, which is similar but sturdier and heavier. The 3-way head on the 400 works nicely though it's a little light for heavy camera-lens combos. I find mine adequate for most uses with a Nikon F as long as I don't put the center post up, but it's not quite steady enough for a 500 mm. lens. And of course if you're out in violent wind, it may not be heavy enough. If you do a lot of vertical work, make sure you get a 3-way head, which allows a little leeway in the vertical position, not a "tilt-pan" head with a vertical flip, or you'll have to level the legs for every shot.

My wife has a Bogen-Manfrotto 3001 with a 3030 head. More money, but also a very nice combo. Depending on what weight you want, you can choose several similar Manfrottos, of which the 3001 is on the light end. The heavier you get, and the more you spend, the easier it will be to keep it steady.

The B&H on-line catalog is a very handy resource for comparing the features.