Digital prints looking flat

I am just beginning to get serious about digital

photography/printing and need some guidance.

I am printing from photoshop cs to an Epson 1280 using Epson

colorlife paper (Image source Canon 10D). When comparing a print

from my printer to one from my lab (MF 120 film source) the inkjet

print looks flat. Is this typical?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi Doug,

A flat image from a 1280 is usually due to incorrect color management settings somewhere along the line. Are you calibrating and profiling your editing monitor? If so you should have used the custom setting in the Epson pop-up print menu and turned off all color management.

I let Adobe do what it does best and have Adobe PS CS set to manage all the color for me from start to finish. The Epson has good profiles for the Epson papers I use and I use these profiles in Adobe PS CS for the output. Works like a charm, printed output colors are pretty much what I see on the screen.

The Epson 1280 can print painfully bright, saturated images. Flat color is not due to the printer.

HTH

I am printing color. I have not profiled/calibrated my system, yet. Although, what I see on the screen is pretty close to what the 1280 outputs. I have color management on the 1280 turned off. I downloaded P.I.M II sw from Epson which gave me some generic profiles for certain papers and the 1280.

The colors are not flat. It is more the image itself. Not as much depth as the ones from my lab.

Well, I am not going to obsess (sp?) over this for now. I am scheduled for an intensive 4-day Photoshop class in NYC next month afterwhich I hope to have a better understanding of the digtal workflow, advantages and limitations.

Thanks for the replies.

-Doug

Doug,