Working with LF lenses / Shutters

greg_miller8

I am a LF newbie and have learned much already from this board. I

have 2 questions for now about LF lenses (I am working with a

Horseman FA and Rodenstock S 150 f5.6 and Nikkor 90 f8).

1. When mounting your lens into the camera, do you orient the

controls (f stop, shutter speed,...) facing up or to the side? I

have been mounting facing up but find I struggle to read the settings

when my tripod is fully extended due to the height of the camera.

I'm wondering if it would be better to orient to controls so that

they face to the side (photgrpaher's right, perhaps?).

2. I'm nervous about exposure control since the f stop settings do

not have any detents and the scale is so small. If I want to bracket

(say under by 1/2 or 1/3 stop) it seems difficult to me to do this

with any precision. Am I missing something or is it just part of the

deal with LF?

Thanks.

RE: 1) Modern shutters should operate properly when oriented in any direction. If having the controls on the side instead of on top works best for you and your camera, then so be it. 2) This is just part of the deal with LF. If this really proves to be a problem for you, then Horseman makes an exposure meter that will slip under the ground-glass and you can use this to precisely bracket your shots by watching the meter readout while you adjust your f-stop. While they are costly new, used ones turn up on eBay fairly regularly (although you need to be careful to buy the more recent version as the older ones use obsolete batteries that are difficult, if not impossible, to find these days).

Most LF lenses (modern) have an additional scale on the bottom

of the lens for the explicit purpose of seeing your shutter speed

and f-stop when the camera is high up in the air.

Sideways sounds fine in theory, but I would rather close the

shutter on the side than on the top, plus Its rather akward to cock

the shutter when it is on the side.