ef 20-35L compare to 20-35 USM

terence_tong1

one being an L and the other is a highly regard ultra wide zoom

other than the constant F stop on the L, does the L justify the price? about 2x for a

89' vs brand new? (650+ vs ~300)

per Photozone.de 's lens comparison data, both are in "good" zone and the USM

nipping the L's heel

so what gives? is it all because of the illusive/discontinued L?

'i know prime is better, thans"

I am no camera expert as far as the algorithims or whatever the things that lens do. What are your needs? need a wide angle lens? or do you need the large aperature for low light, hand hold photojournalism? I remember reading someones response before that if you shoot a the higher f-stops, like f-8,f-11 and above than the 2.8 will be wasted money (I am sure some will attack me for that) I have the 20-35 usm (consumer model) and it is a great lens. I use it on my 10D and it is sharp enough. Of course with a D-SLR the corners are cropped out so you get the best part of the lens. If I had the money would I have gotten the L version? Absolutely! Why? because of the ruggedness and quality of the glass and mechanical componets. Am I happy with the USM version? Absolutely! sorry so long winded!

This should have been addressed in Canon EOS forum, so that many EOS user can answer it more accurately. Being a Canon EOS user myself, I believe that you'll see the differences in both lenses when you shoot wide open, meaning that the L lens is sharper wide open. Also the L lens has an extra stop advantage, which means you can shoot with this lens in less lighting condition. However, as Robert has mentioned, if you shoot mostly at f/8-f/11, the difference between both lenses are negligible. So.. it really depends on your shooting style and needs.