Research suggestions for digital

I have never used a digital SLR before. I own a Canon EOS and have

been taking and selling photos for about a year now.

I think I have a good grounding in film camera basics, I use

Photoshop 7 and I have my own point and shoot digital camera. It's a

pretty simply one mainly for email purposes.

My question is about the difference between film and digital

cameras. I have always assumed that the only real difference is what

the light is projected on to. Once I have basic photography

knowledge and basic knowledge about how digital works, switching to a

digital SLR would be a piece of cake.

Am I wrong about this? If I'm overlooking anything, please let me

know.

<I>I have always assumed that the only real difference is what the light is projected on to.</I><P>

It depends on how you define a "real" difference. There are important differences in the way digital sensors respond to light compared to film, just as there are important differences in the way black and white, color negative, and slide film respond to light. Also, do you consider grain versus digital noise to be a "real" difference? How about the cropping factor of digital imagers as a result of their smaller size? That's pretty real for me, but is it for you?<P>

Also, there are enormous differences in working style between digital and film photography. When I switched from Polaroids to digital for studio test shots it made a huge difference in my studio work flow (for one thing I didn't have to keep stopping to apply cold compresses and Ace bandages every time me or the model slipped on a discarded Polaroid backing - 8-)<BR>

)<P>

So it depends on what your rather vague question really means.