Tokina ATX manual focus lenses

ray_locke

I am an Olympus OM photographer. I recently came across a Tokina ATX

100-300/4 in an OM mount. Anyway I grabbed it and have only put one

roll through it. My verdict is still out on it, but does anyone else

have knowledge or experience with this lens?

Does this lens have a good rep?

I know that the ATX line was the tops from Tokina. Telephoto in the

OM mount is rather limited. I have a Zuiko 200/4 and detest it. Can

never find a Zuiko 300/4.5 at a fair price and the 250 is waayyyy too

much. So did I get a gem or a dog?

(1) it got a rave review in Modern Photography several centuries ago.

(2) I've handled 3 in Nikon mount at camera flea markets, all changed focal length when held near vertical. Does yours have a stiffer zoom mechanism?

(3) I convinced someone (here? not sure) to get one from KEH. I think it was in Nikon mount. He reported great disappointment.

(4) I see you're a practitioner of "ready, aim, fire." Do you work for a major corporation?

(5) Why ask us whether YOUR lens is any good? Why don't you ask the lens yourself? You have the very lens in question, none of us has access to it, and odds are no two of them are exactly alike. Also none of us knows your standards. Alternatively, perhaps you should do your homework before you buy instead of, ah, seeking absolution after you've sinned.

Cheers,

Dan