Affordable Wide-Angle

morthcam

I was warned that once I started shooting with MF I wouldn't be happy with 35mm, and they were right. But I miss my 24mm lens (in 35mm format), and none of the lenses for a Mamiya TLR gets very wide.

<p>

So I'm looking for a solution to going wider in MF; the problem is my budget tops out at around $1000 (maybe stretch to $1200?). So the Mamiya 7 with the 43 are out, as is the Hasselblad SWC, or an RB with a 50 lens (which would be my first choice). The Fuji GSW690 fits in the budget (used), but I think it wouldn't be quite as wide as I'd like.

<p>

A Mamiya Universal with a 50 lens would work -- especially with a 6x9 back, I could make a pretty good panoramic shot by cropping (in effect, a 3x9 negative).

<p>

What are some other options in my price range? Thanks for your advice.

Another option to consider, that wouldn't be quite as wide, but might

cost a lot less, is a Koni-Omega camera with the 58 or 60 mm lens.

Used (the only way to get these now,) the camera and WA lens should

run about $450-650, depending on condition.

<p>

I don't have any direct experience with these cameras (although

one should be en route to me via UPS,) so I can't speak directly

of it's strengths and weaknesses for WA.

<p>

For a comparison of medium format press cameras, check out Mike

Liu's comparison of medium format press cameras (naturally,) at:

<p>

http://web.mit.edu/mliu/web/medformat/medpresscompo.html

<p>

Good luck,