HREF="http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/1ds/1700-

frames.shtml">M. Reichmann</A>, <A

HREF="http://www.bythom.com/cleaning.htm">T. Hogan</A>). The general

wisdom is to have the camera off and pointing down when switching

lensdes and to switch lenses as little as possible. Simplistic

reasoning would suggest using (hyper-)zooms to satisfy the latter

requirement. However, there is a strong opinion that "zooms suck in

lots of air and hence dust" (post by Puppy Face in Canon EOS Forum <A

HREF="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?

msg_id=005qJE">thread</A>).<BR><BR>

My question is to DSLR users who shoot outdoors: <B>how shooting with

primes (switching lenses often) compares with zooms (air getting in

and out of the lens due to the volume change) in terms of dust?

</B><BR><BR>

Currently I shoot with a Nikon film SLR and a small collection of

Nikkor and Sigma zooms and primes (I am not a pro). Even with zooms I

tend to switch lenses fairly often in the field, so I expect problems

when going digital.<BR><BR>

For the record: I am aware of numerous optical, technical and

aesthetical aspects of zooms vs. primes comparison (thanks to

photo.net, in part). Many threads already cover the topics on whether

shooting only primes will make you a better photographer or if zooms

are really more convenient (e.g. <A

HREF="http://www.photo.net/mjohnston/column20/">ref 1</A>, <A

HREF="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?

msg_id=000wf7">ref 2</A>, <A HREF="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-

a-fetch-msg?msg_id=0059kJ">ref 3</A>, <A

HREF="http://www.photo.net/equipment/canon/28zooms/">ref 4</A> etc.).

If possible, I would like the specific question of letting dust into

a digital camera addressed here.<BR><BR>

Thanks,

What's the point?