bellows compensation

putri

Calumet distributes an inexpensive tool that consists of a 2" square target and a special ruler. After placing the target in the scene being photographed, one "measures" the target on the ground glass using the special ruler. The ruler has a scale that automatically determines in stops the bellows correction that's needed.

As a statistician, I'm a math guy. But, why do math when one can have such a simple, intuitive tool that makes the math unnecessary?

It's called a Calumet Exposure Calcualtor, and it sells for about $8.

Divide the bellows extension by the focal length. Then multiply the time indicated by your meter at the desired f-stop by the square of that factor.

Let's consider an example with your 360 mm lens. Suppose when focused on your subject, the lens to film distance is 420 mm. Then the factor is 420/360 = 7/6 ~ 1.17. Multiply the time by its square or 1.36.

Alternately, you can change the f-stop by opening up the appropriate number of (fractional) f-stops. The formula for this is

2 log(factor)/log(2)

In the above example, using a scientific calculator, I find you should open up by 0.44 stops, or a shade less than half a stop.

Doing this calculation can be awkward in the field, so there are various shortcuts for avoiding it, some of which are described in the previous responses. Another method which works if the factor is not much bigger than 1 is to multiply the fractional part by 3. In the above example, the fractional part of the factor is 0.17, and 3 times that is 0.51 or just about half a stop. This method slightly overestimates the fractional f-stop change. It won't work too well if the amount the factor exceeds 1 is too large. For example, if the factor is 1.4, this method gives 1.2 stops, while the correct answer is 1 stop.