I'm a total beginner in photography, and I just got a Nikon Coolpix

5700. The thing is that I've read several articles and books on

metering and I'm kind of confused.

The camera has a built in meter and currently I have it set to matrix

mode. I've read you should meter off of a mid-toned subject and base

your settings on this. What does this mean? Should I use matrix

metering, point the camera towards a midtoned subject, take note of

the readings and then, when I'm all set to take the picture, change

the new settings with the settings I took note of?

I'm sorry if this is a newbie question, but I'm really interested.

Thanks so much for your time and help. I truly appreciate it.