Canon D-30 or D-300? (how to build a cheap DSLR system)

pablo_s

I'd like to get a DSLR system but I'm a poor student and my budget

is very limited. The introduction of the D-300 seems to open some

good perspectives though. The only realistic choices that I have

right now is: getting a used D-30 or a new D-300. As for lenses, I

plan to begin with the 50/1.8 plus a EF 28-105/3.5-4.5 USM or a EF

28-135/3.5-5.6 IS USM. If I get the D-300 I might consider the wide-

angle that comes with it for additional $100.

The D-30 option is of course cheaper but I'm getting used equipment

and less resolution. I don't care too much about resolution though,

since I don't plan to do any very large prints, and my initial

lenses won't be that great anyway. Right now the D-30 is selling at

$700 and I guess the price will drop even further once the D-300

starts shipping. On the other hand, the D-300 offers a cheap, if not

good quality, wide-angle solution.

So the basic question is how do the D-30 and D-300 compare. The D-30

is older so one can expect some improvements on the D-300, but on

the other hand the D-300 should be a more basic camera. The

specifications seem to be more or less similar for both.

Any adivce will be welcome!

The D30 was notorious for having a less than perfect AF system which required assistance at low light levels and didn't track rapidly moving objects too well.

This was MUCH improved on the 10D and the 300D appears to use the same AF system as the 10D.

So if AF performance is important, I'd lean towards a 300D. You also can't really discount the advantage of twice as many pixles. Even if you don't make large prints, the extra pixels let you crop more.