"But they are all the same"

moiz

So I have this problem....I just can't stop myself from shooting the same scene at least three times.

Im pretty sure this is just a hang up from the old "bracket all your shots" but now im starting to annoy even myself with it (my wife is beyond being just mildly annoyed when the roll of 36 comes back with only 9-10 different pictures!). Even the most simple of shots, the kids doing something cute for example; I'll take an incident meter reading, take the picture, then take two or three more....just in case! Sometimes I don't even bracket...I just take lots of shots of the same thing.

So can someone either help me, or at least tell me your little annoying habits that you cant get rid of to make me feel better.

Cheers all,

Moiz

I know the feeling, I got into this habit when I was a press photographer. 9 times out of 10 the first shot was the one that got used!

I find it helps to go to meetings of multishotters anonymous and when you turn comes round just stand up and admit it - "My name is Moiz and I'm a multishotter".

With time and effort you'll get back to taking one shot of the scene.

:-)

Just relax and only bracket those shots that are utterly unrepeatable.

I have learnt this lately. A problem with me was the "I must take everything I can cram in my bag just in case..." syndrome. (Commonly called... "my bloody shoulder aches like hell!")

I forced myself recently to go out with one SLR ,one 45mm lightweight lens (Tessar) and one compact (GR1). 400 asa B&W and Colour film so therefore NO tripod. I allowed myself only a maximum of 3 filters. A UV and a Circ Pol and a Yellow for B&W.

On top of this I also forbad myself from bracketing (so I carry less film) and made myself enjoy country walks for their own sake. (Previously they had been 'photography walks'.) The pictures actually improved! Weird.