question of soft box use

mike_herring

I am fairly new to studio portraiture and have a question. I am using Photoflex soft boxes, size Medium i believe, for my main light. I notice a hard edge shadow off of the nose. Something I do not recall seeing when I used umbrellas. Am I using the soft box improperly. I place as close to subject as possible without seeing in viewfinder. Can anyone help me with this question?

<p>

Thanks in advance

Mike

http://www.humboldt1.com/~mikeh/

I also use the Photoflex Medium Litedome. When I started out, I used the softbox much like you described and had similar results (some relatively hard edges on the noses). I assume you're using both the inner baffle and the removable front diffuser panel. A wedding pro gave me some tips a few months ago that helped me tremendously. It's a bit difficult to describe without diagrams, but here goes:

<p>