terry_spade

I am new to large format. I want to develop my own color neg/slide

film. Then scan them into my computer. Plan on using a HP Combi-Plan

4X5 daylight processing tank. I used to develop slides when I first

got into 35mm photography. Way back in 1975. At one time I even had a

dark room. But don't want to do that again. The Computer is the only

way to go with color. IMHO :) But I don't want to buy a darkroom how

to book. Just need to know what chems to buy and how to use them

times/temps etc. Or if anyone can recommend a complete kit of chems.

Thanks Terry

Terry, you'll get all kinds of answers. In my younger foolisher days I tried to formulate E-6 from dry powders but ruined a LOT of good pictures messing around. Every time I thought I had a handle on it I would go for a repeat and get something different. Kits are the only way to go. <a href="http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=surebet2&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=25">This</a> guy here sells Agfa kits which I have used with nice success.

You can find some information about developing color sheet film at

www.largeformatphotography.info. It discusses processing slide film using Unicolor drums.

Tetenal makes kits both for processing slide film and for processing color negative film. Kodak also sells the chemicals but only in relatively large amounts. Presumably the kits come with instructions about times and temperatures.

The HP Combi uses a relatively large amount of chemicals. Using a drum, you can get away with using less chemicals and hence process more film for the same amount of money. Probably the most effective system is a Jobo Processor, which combines a drum with a method of controlling temperatures.