I seem to be having difficulty composing the image on the ground

glass. I view the image about ten inches away and its like I

don't "see" the picture. Is this a matter of practice or experience

or approach? Can you describe your technique or approach to

composition as you moved from beginner to sucess. I have a frame

viewer which helps to a certain degree but would like to benefit

from the years of experience that many of the LF photographers at

this forum have. Thank you. Michael

Not sure, but you could be too close. I find that the back of the lens, the portion of the groundglass I am studying, and my eye must all be in a straight line. This means a lot of walking around under the cloth when composing on an 8x10.

I have a personal problem with 35mm viewfinders, which cause me to act as if I am working with a gun-sight. Everything important ends to get placed dead-center, in the cross-hairs.

Michael, I know what you mean! Try viewing from a greater distance - and view the whole scene/screen. Then as you adjust to the image you can move closer/around under the darkcloth. IMHO ten inches is CLOSE - I would try viewing at double this distance befor homing in for fine focus.

Michael,

I view the composition from about 18"--try farther back. And, if you are just learning how to do it, give it some time. It is a little disorienting at first. After a while you won't even think about it anymore.

The other thing that may be occurring is that you are trying to bring an image that is inverted to a recognizable orientation (within your consciousness). One of the greatest benefits of a view camera, in my opinion, is that it takes the image into the realm of shapes, forms and lines. For that reason, one benefits from getting the rational mind out of the way. When that occurs one can begin to "see" what is actually there.