Epson 2200 b&w only using blk & ltblk carts only?

Greetings,

I only want to print B&W with my 2200 -- no color. It occured to me

that the problems with metamersism, bronzing, and whatever else, could

possibly be reduced (eliminated?) by using just the black carts. But

several threads indicated that this results in lower resolution, i.e.

'dotting'.

Has anyone considered replacing the CcMmY carts with BbBbB or

MBbMBbMb? It seems that I get to keep the high resolution, but only

print with black.

Of course there may be some problems with some

what-used-to-be-CcMmY-but-are-now-BbBbB combinations not matching my

idea of a proper grey, but couldn't that be worked out by using some

sort of color matcher or grey balancer... or something. (As you might

have guessed, I'm pretty new to this and my grasp of the finer points

of digital may be somewhat tenuous <grin>.)

I tried fitting the carts last night and discovered that they are

'keyed' differently (no doubt to protect the consumer from

him/herself), but I thought that with some sharp tools & patience that

I might be able to make them fit.

Before I go crazy and ruin some perfectly good carts can someone tell

me why this won't work. Or won't work well enough to make it

worthwhile? Or has been tried before and failed miserably. Or better

yet, think of an easier way to make the Blk & ltBlk carts fit where

they're not supposed to.

Printing with black inko only does NOT change the resolution! It only makes the image grainier because it has to render it with only two inks instead of seven. Putting black in the other tanks will only screw up your picture as black has a much higher density that one of the colors would. Also you would be using the exact same inks anyway so even if you overcame all the technical hurdles there would be no advantage. In other words: DON"T DO IT!

Steven,

<p>Thanks for your reply.</p>