Alpha 350 DSLR a good buy for a first DSLR camera?

navs

<p>I am new here , just bought a sony alpha dslr 350 in Canada for CAD$650 with std lens 3.5-5.6/18-70 last december on boxing day. Just took first pictures last month , is confused if its a good buy and should one invest furhter in building lens or learn then move on to Canon body for more serious work. Appreciate all inputs , I am a novice photographer , also need advice if any photo related software is needed to learn more in depth stuff. thanks all , have a good snapping day :). oops forgot to ask what size of jpg is good enough to load and share your work out here need help :) Navnitrai Saini</p><div>00TAX3-128253584.thumb.jpg.10a9a50ab3e7b2e3e01e874ef16da66d.jpg</div>

<p>Hi Navnitrai,</p>

<p>You have a good camera.</p>

<p>If you are notive, you will take no advantage from switching to another brand, if anything it may be detrimental to your development (focusing on equipment rather than the actual photographs).</p>

<p>A good buy? Well, buying a camera in December then only using it 3 or so months later isn't a great investment, no... it's been sitting around losing value (although with the current climate you may have actually not lost much at all). But, most importantly, a camera like this is never a financial investment or a 'good buy'. It's brought to do the job, the cost of it should just be whatever your willing to pay for a good body and then as soon as you've parted with your cash, you should forget about the price - it will hopefully serve you for many, many years, where the shots it captures will hopefully be 'priceless'.</p>

<p>Just keep taking pictures and enjoying your camera. If you want to take it more seriously, maybe look at getting some books on photography or post-processing.</p>

<p>Good luck, Rich</p>

<p>p.s. I think the posting size allowed on photo.net is 700 pixels max length?</p>