5200i Flash with Stofen diffuser, exp compensation

miguel_rodriguez3

Hi all. I have bought recently a 5200i flashgun for my 8000i. I have

tried flash bounced off the ceiling with my MF minoltas and manual

flash but I have no idea of how I could compensate if I use TTL

flash with the 5200i and a diffuser that attaches to the flash head.

I read on the 'learn' section of photo.net about the diffusers and I

like the effect of diffuse flash rather than the harsh shadows that

sometimes appear with direct flash. Any recommendations on how much I

should compensate the exposure if I use the camera on P or A mode

with the flash in TTL mode (using the diffuser)? I would appreciate

your help, I am new to flash photography. any good websites? Thanks

for your help.

Steve is right. You only need to compensate for bounce flash and/or a diffuser if you are using manual flash. I guess you could work out a rough compensation factor for the diffuser by shooting a test series, but how you would ever work out how much to compensate for bounce flash under different circumstances is a mystery to me. If you are using TTL flash that's not an issue - neither is it if you are using a simple auto flash, such as the Vivitar 283, with your manual focus Minoltas. I bet before the advent of auto flash units bounce flash wasn't very popular, but that was before my time ;-)