What should I buy?

neha

Hi. I need help. I recently bought a Canon Elan 7E kit. The lens that

came with it takes horrible pictures. They are not sharp. My first

student all manual Ricoh camera took better pictures! I am a student

and need an affordable lens that takes sharp picutures! Can someone

please suggest some good lenses? Thanks!

A great reference point is a 50mm F1.8. It is damn sharp and cheap. The better zoom is the 28-105 or 28-135IS. I love my 50mm F1.4 and 100mm F2. I also love my 70-200 2.8IS (if money is no object). I hear great things about the 70-200 F4 which is a heck of a value. You don't mention what your needs are and what type of shooting you do.

I hope this helps!

<P>You don't say what the lens is that "takes horrible pictures". The zoom lens that's usually bundled with a Canon SLR is capable of good images. If the camera is used in program mode, it may use a shutter speed that renders your pictures unsharp. Substituting the 50mm f1.8 may improve things, but only because it would permit the camera to use a faster shutter speed.</P><P>Please don't give up on your lens until you've explored its potential (on a tripod, manual exposure).</P>

Neha

I was also horrified by my first few rolls through my eos 33 (elan7) with the 28 - 90 kit lens, perhaps I was expecting too much from my upgrade?? better technique (thanks to photo.net) improved things a LOT

This lens is now relegated to macro work stopped down as much as practical on the end of my extension tubes - where it has produced some very nice shots...

Replaced it with 28-135IS (among others) and have never looked back. 28-135 is one kit purchase that I have never regretted for a second - hopefully it isn't over your budget?