D7000 single point focus problem

tina_brandner

<p>I have been using a D90 for over 3 years now with a 35mm 1.8 lens to shoot models. I recently bought the D7000 and have been using the same lens. I figured out how to have a single point focus, however it does not seem to be working correctly. My D90 was simple, you just move the focus box to wherever you want to focus (I mostly shoot vertical, so in head shots it would be at the top to focus on the models eye) and it was always crystal clear. My D7000, I have on AF-S and the single point, move it to the models eyes as I am looking through the viewfinder, hold the shutter halfway, it focuses as I am used to but for some reason the photo does not focus there! On the playback mode you can see the grid on the photo with the actual red focus box on her eye, however that eye is not in focus but the farther one is. Its not a huge difference but in headshots it is very obvious. I need that crystal clear shiny eye look. I have tried fixing the focus and recomposing, moving the box slightly, trying to focus on the forehead, nose etc. I even used the 9 point focus, which works great for body shots. I have tried for two days now and about 2 in every 5 photos is clear and I am not holding down the shutter. My model does not move. And even if she did my D90 was never off. I have tried focusing and holding down the shutter, tried refocusing after EVERY shot just to make sure. It is not consistent. I am at the point where I might just buy a new D90. Does anyone have any ideas? I have the manual and have done everything it tells me. Are there other settings that might be messing with this?</p><div>00bmon-541074784.thumb.jpg.eece2d6b8d818f5f092e599424b0116e.jpg</div>

<p>Have you tried the AF fine tune? Check the manual for how to do it, you'll have to play around with the numbers until the focus is sharp. I had a similar degree of back-focus with my 18-70 on my D7000, which I fixed with an AF fine tune adjustment of -3.</p>