Which 18-200 lens ?

simon_bradley

<p>Morning guys, newbie here, so thanks in advance to anyone who offers help.<br>

I have a D3100 for which I want to purchase an 18-200 lens. I'm nothing more than an enthusiastic amateur, and a lot of my pictures are little more than holiday/travel/family, but I do like producing good pictures in those categories.<br>

I'm really look for advice between whether to spend my cash on a NEW Tamrom/Sigma type lens with the security of a warranty it offers, or a 2nd HAND Nikon VR (can't justify the spend of a VRII, but reports Ive read suggest thats not much better than the VR anyway), realising that will be a good few years old.<br>

The overall cost/sell on value is pretty irrelevant, so my question is really whether I am likely to see better quality images from a 6-8 year old Nikon VR lens or from a brand new Tamron or Sigma (and which out of those two brnads anyone would recommend ?)<br>

Once again, thanks in advance<br>

Si</p>

<p> </p>

<p>There's no difference in the optical formula between the two Nikon 18-200mm lenses. I've had a couple of copies, but have now completely bailed out of Nikon and into Olympus MFT. A s/h Nikon is likely to give better performance overall, although I found mine to be soft at the long end. I preferred the 16-85mm in terms of sharpness and overall image quality. It's long enough for head shots and wide enough for some nice landscapes.</p>

<p>Simon, not many people here are fans of these superzooms (including me). There are better alternatives, really. I'll assume you have the 18-55VR lens that came with the D3100 now? I'd really consider adding the 55-200VR lens to your kit - it's cheaper and better. Or, second hand, the Nikon 18-70. The Sigma 17-70, nice option. And possibly the nicest allround value for money is the 18-105VR.</p>