part time event photographer equipment insurance

rick_chen

<p>Hi all,<br>

Curious to know what do you guys have for insurance of your gears and equipment? Please refer me some great companies that has a easy claim process, wont break the bank and suit my needs.<br>

I am a part time wedding photographer, sticking with my main job but does about half a dozen weddings a year. I talked to my home and auto insurance company (same co.) they wont cover any cameras or lenses for more than $5000 at home, against theft or fire. Then I talked to business insurance people and it gets kind of complicated...because I use the equipment 50% for work and 50% for pleasure, and they are 90% stored at home and 10% in the car. And my business address is technically at home doing post processing or at the wedding venue. I want coverage against theft/fire at home, against equipment failure and breakage at the wedding venue, and maybe (not a must) equipment damage in times of a car accident on the road (I only have general liability insurance for the car).<br>

I believe I dont do this often enough to need a business liability insurance, as the couple typically purchase $1M event venue liability insurance to be able to use the wedding venue. Still that insurance doesnt cover my gears. Even though I know it's better to have liability insurance, I am not sure if it's worth it for the amount of income I am making off these gigs. I am charging not very much, and is doing it more of a hobby from referrals. My neighbor recently got broken into, and that's what put me to consider getting insurance, since my equipment current value easily exceeds 45k. Would be horrible if i am to lose them and my homeowner's insurance only gives me 5k.</p>

<p>Any help is greatly appreciated!</p>