"Depth of Field" & Focus Problems withLF. QUESTION

ardea

I'm a newbie to LF so please bear with me.

I have noticed lately and in the archives, problems some people are

having with unsharp negatives when the image appeared sharp on the

GG. It seems that most folks feel that the problem can be traced to a

difference in film plane to ground glass plane. Theres a whole lot of

measuring going on.

Out of curiosity I measured my new Shen-Hoa 4X5 GG distance,Toyo &

Fidelity film holders and found maximum deviation of three and a

half thousandths (.0035") or .09mm.

Now the question/s. Assuming a circle of confusion (CoF) of two and

a half thousandths (.0025") or .06 mm. A 150 mm lens focused at inf.

and stopped down to f32. How far forward and behind the film plane

will the above CoC lie? I just wonder if using the above values does

the CoC lie beyond most mfg. tolerances and slight film bowing.

Thanks..Richard Martel, Florida Keys

Hi George

Sorry to be so dense but I don't understand how the formula was derived. The number "3.84 mm" is well over 1/8 of an inch and most likely well beyond the most gross mfg. error in filmholders or GG location. I believe the number 32 representing f 32 is just the ratio of the focal length to aperture diameter or A= FL/fstop #. Where 150/32=4.69=A for an aperture of 4.69mm. I'm not that versed in mathamatics but I would have thought that one would have to use actual values of A to determine how far the CoC lies, forward or aft of the rear focal point. If my assumptions are incorrect please don't hesitate to enlighten me.

Thanks, Richard