Shooting my first wedding

logannhatfield

<p>Hello,<br>

Well, everyone has to start wedding photography somewhere... Right? I'm photographing my first wedding on July 27th. My client is aware I'm not a pro-wedding photographer, but the Bride and her Fiancé saw samples of my previous work, and liked what they saw. I feel confident I can handle the event, but I'm looking for any tips that you guys think can ultimately benefit me, and my clients.<br>

Thanks for your time. </p>

<p>The biggest piece of advice I can give you is to not set your expectations, or your client's expectations, too high. You should expect to do a barely passable job of it, and your client should expect the same.</p>

<p>I'm a little concerned that a)<em> "...saw samples of my previous work, and liked what they saw" </em>and b) <em>"I'm photographing my first wedding on July 27th". </em>How, exactly, have they seen previous wedding work if you've not shot a wedding before? The answer is that they've seen work you've done in a non-wedding setting. The implication, and expectation <em>that you gave them</em>, is that you'll be capable of reproducing that quality of work. This is an ill advised impression to give. You are setting yourself and your client up for disappointment by doing so. Sometimes weddings go smoothly, often they do not. At this point, you don't know how to act, or react. Expecting to be able to replicate high quality controlled work your first go 'round is farcical at best. You need to <em>tell them</em> that.</p>

<p>Other than that prepare prepare prepare, and carry backup gear, and know how to use all your equipment properly, and how to TS it in a pinch. Take every opportunity to grab every single shot you can. Tell the client to expect you to do a cruddy job, compared to a 'professional standard', and compared to competitors.</p>

<p>I'd have to politely disagree with Marcus.</p>