AF-S 500/4D ED Version I

kk_hui

<p>I've had a AF-S 500/4D ED (version 1) from new since 1998. Thinking of pairing it with a D800. <br />I'd like to hear any actual user experience. Is it optically 'good enough' for the high pixel body like the D800?</p>

<p>I have no experience with this lens, but just for your consideration: <em>what if it's not</em>?<br>

You will still render more details than a camera with less megapixels does; maybe not the "full" 36, but there will still be a resolution advantage over a, say, 12MP body. If are you going to look at these photos at 100% magnification, then yes, you might see flaws of your lens (and more likely: your technique and tripod). If you look at the photo itself instead, it will show more detail than a D700 can render. Ask yourself: what is more important, the photo or pixel-perfection?</p>

<p>In short: if you're happy with this lens today, there is no serious reason to think it'll suddenly not be good enough tomorrow.</p>

<p>Let's not. My opinions always get me in trouble here. Suffice to say that you will be more than happy with your 500/4 on the D800. You will be very excited with what the additional pixels can get you and I only went from a D2X to 5D II with a "lowly" Nikon 400/2.8 AIS. I can only imagine what the D800 will do with the 500/4 AF.</p>

<p>Both Canon and Nikon made a huge leap in lens quality when they went to autofocus. It must have been the coinciding increase in computer aided manufacturing/design in the late 80's because they were both able to reduce CA in their best lenses to virtually zero! They may have tweaked resolution very slightly since, but that was the single largest achievement that both made, even more important than VR/IS in my opinion.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>We are mere humans. We are not allowed to hold this lens. Here is the review you are looking for. </p>