Q? The fashion shoot process

click_click

<p>Hi I'm a newbie,</p>

<p>I joined to ask someone to post "The fashion shoot process", you know the low down.<br>

<br /> I have searched the threads and found a great one by Benjamin Kanarek , Jul 22, 2009; 06:34 a.m. - A Fashion Shoot in One Day...The Process, and athough great i missed a few sections like "call sheets" and the way people use them.<br>

<br /> Why? Well i'm just starting out and getting together some models and just want to be as professional as possible from the outset. I shoot Nikon, with a selection of lenses including manual. I'm also a beginner in strobist lighting techniques and enjoy learning advanced techniques, but most of all i love photography.<br>

<br /> Thanx in advance!<br /> clickclick</p>

<p>I've been on a lot of sets, and watched some of the most highly paid photographers shooting national campaigns and/or covers. Oddly, 99% of them seem to shoot/light the same way. White-coved studio, black Foamcore 'Vs' shielding the models from the bounce from the background, with strip lights lighting the cove. Then, either a huge softbox, parabolic, and/or a beauty dish as the key.</p>

<p>There's often about 20-30 people on-set (multiple assistants, agency people, etc.). Each shot is streamed to an iMac mounted on a monitor arm, affixed to a rolling Magliner cart. The iMac is almost always running PhaseOne's CaptureOne Pro, with the magazine's cover mock-up superimposed. Clearly, this is at a slightly higher level than my own "fashion" shoots.</p>

<p>Personally, I like shooting models on-location. I would consider the following the minimum amount of personel you would need for a successful shoot:</p>

<p>1. Make-up/hair.<br>

2. Stylist.<br>

3. If possible, an assistant.</p>