DX Lens Question: 18-70, or 18-105 ??

ross_lipman

<p>I can purchase either lens very cheaply. Use would be on a D90 and possibly a D7000. Which is the better lens ? I like the longer reach of the 105, but am put off by reported distortion. I have some experience with the 70 and I have noticed distortion at the wide end. Is the 105 worse in this regard ? I like the metal mount of the 70 compared to the plastic of the 105.<br>

<br />Anyone have experience comparing both lenses ?</p>

<p>Thanks !</p>

<p>I bought the D90 with the 18-105 and found it to be an excellent kit lens. I really appreciated the extra reach and it was very sharp in good light. I hear the 18-70 is fine too and may be built a bit more ruggedly - I do not own it though. If the extra reach is important to you, then the 18-105 will serve you well with either camera. Otherwise I think it may be a toss up. Distortion is easily corrected in post using Capture NX2 and other software so I'm not sure you need to be overly concerned.</p>

<p>I've casually used both (the 18-70 came along in a kit once upon a time, and I've used another's 18-105). I like the 18-70's build a bit more. But the 18-105's 18-70 range ain't bad, and it's got a bit more reach. But the difference between 70mm and 105mm isn't really all that great. On DX, you notice small differences on the wide end more than in the traditional mid-tele ranges, I find.<br /><br />You'll probably find you'll end up with the 18-105 in your hands even more cheaply than the 18-70.</p>

<p>Hi Ross,<br>

it depends on you what you are looking for. I personaly like the 18-70 more than the 18-105. I used the 18-70 for a long time before I bought some prime lenses. I used it for portraits and wide angle group shots. I was always satisfied with the quality of the lens. Of course it is not the best one but for a cheaper DX lens it's more than a fair price. A lot of my friends and colleagues don't like it but for me its still a good and useable DX lens. <br>