was made on film, maybe 35 mil, and if it's dull and slightly

overexposed, it was video. Perhaps I am wrong, ignoring the

possibilities of video and post production. My question is: has 16

mm still a reason to be and when would it be a good

choice? What kind of video camera would match the quality and

dynamic

of film, Velvia for instance? (I am an amateur shooter and

can probably not afford a video camera capable of producing the

image quality I am after). Thanks for your comments!

Paul

There are a number of ways to emulate the "film look" on video. Often, people buy PAL DV systems and then deinterlace and use frame-blending software to make the 25-interlaced to 24-progressive switch. Canon's apparently going to release a 24 f.p.s. version of the XL1, which could shake things up a bit. Once you've got 24 f.p.s. progressive-scan video, there are a variety of filters one can buy (although they're mostly fairly expensive) to further emulate the look. You can do most of what they do by using a curves tool to control the charactistic curve of the video; video often comes out a little flat, with contrast in the wrong areas.

DV isn't a terrific standard, but it is cheap. An XL1 is only about $3000 used right now. Pro stuff -- Digital Betacam, etc. -- is significantly better. Video sensors are still pretty small, especially compared to 35mm, but shooting with the aperture wide open will help.

In terms of actual resolution, 16mm is still pretty far above everything but high-definition video, which is impressively good but also unrealistically expensive. However, both 16mm and most DV formats are significantly better than current broadcast TV standards, which are pretty archaic. It makes sense to shoot in video if you know you'll be taking lots of footage and your film will only be shown on TV, which is the case with quite a lot of people right now. Digital-to-film transfers are a whole other story.