joseph_wei

Hi,

I'm completely new to large-format photography and have a couple

basic questions. I just borrowed an old Crown Graphic from my school

photo department. With it came a sealed pack of 4x5 Tri-X and 4 film

holders. Toying with the camera, I succeded in opening up the front

cover (and extending the bellows/lens) as well as exposing the rear

ground glass. My questions:

1. How do I load the Tri-X sheets into the film holders?

2. How do I install the film holders in the camera?

Any other advice concerning large format photography would be great.

I plan to use this camera for group shots, some "photojournalist"

pictures, and landscapes. Thanks!

JW

I did not, and will not, damage the camera. The only reason why I asked the film loading question is because the 45-year-old instruction sheet that came with the camera is missing the bottom half (which supposedly contained instructions for how to load film). Secondly, there is no one in the photo department that knows how the operate the camera. The photo teacher is new at the school, and is largely unfamiliar with large format. Hope that clears up some questions.

JW

Joseph,

take a bit of time to find some info on the internet, or see if there are any library books dealing with LF cameras.

Spend some time gently fiddling with it, working things out (kudos on figuring how to open it! there are whole threads on here on that...)

The LargeFormat site mentioned has tons of good basic info - take time to look through it.

Also, check out www.graflex.org - again, lots of info.

And don't open the box of film in any kind of light - just total dark!

good luck and have fun