Overwhelmed about a portrait shoot!

prabhu_v

<p>I'm not sure if this post belongs here or in the Fashion section, but basically, I've rented an 85mm 1.4 lens this weekend to take a few shots of my wife as I want to experiment with portrait photography. It's going to be outdoors as I don't have an indoor facility or lighting, and I won't have an assistant with me. Since it's not for a client, I'm not too worried about perfection, but I do want to do the best I can. <br /> I was thinking of taking her to a park or beach setting and take some shots of her posing "fashionably". I have a few scenarios in mind: head shots, full length, standing, sitting, near trees, leaning on a wall, near railway tracks, bokeh, Black and White, etc. <br /> I've never done this before so I wanted to get some advice, tips, do's and don'ts, and anything else that will help me make the most out of my rental. I'll be using a Nikon D5100 camera. I do have an external flash, and like I said it's going to be outdoors. <br /> I've read the portrait article here and have also looked at flickr and 500px for portrait examples. I have bookmarked the pictures I like and thought that I could simply start by imitating some of the styles and worry about originality when I become more experienced.<br /> Other than general advice and tips, I do have a few specific questions:<br /> 1. Are there any classic portrait/fashion portfolios online that are regarded as great portrait examples?<br /> 2. Are there any tools/apps/services online that are made for photographers to help find good spots in your neighborhood for taking photos? Something like geocaching is what I had in mind. I've heard of Stuck On Earth, but it's only available for the iPad.<br /> 3. Does the golden hour guideline apply for portraits too? If I'm not able to make it during sunrise or sunset time, can I still get away with doing this at other times of the day?<br /> 4. What are the guidelines about lighting the face with regards to shadow