Calculating magnification, etc., using extension tubes on a macro lens?

larry h.

<p>Sorry in advance for the length of this question. The issues are harder than they seem at first glance.</p>

<p>On Thursday, I posted a photo of a flower called <em>Diamorpha smallii</em> that is between 5 - 6 mm from tip-to-tip, taken with a 100mm/2.8L IS lens plus 65mm of extension tubes.</p>

<p>Just before I left the site, I suddenly thought to ask the ranger accompanying me if she had a metric scale of any kind with her -- Leatherman tools are great! By photographing that, I calculated that I was working at about 1.67x (13.5mm field across a 22.5mm -- long side -- sensor). I have never worked beyond 1:1 before, nor really done much macro work at all.</p>

<p>My questions are:<br>

1) I tried to figure out ahead of time what the maximum magnification was that I could achieve, but couldn't. How would I do that?<br>

2) How do I calculate the **actual** working f/stop of a floating element macro lens, especially when working with additional extension?<br>

3) What is the best way to get beyond 1:1 (1.0x), other than the obvious 65mm 1x - 5x lens, which just ain't going to happen for me.</p>

<p>My crack at answering my own questions:<br>

1) In the old days, to reach 1.0x with a 100mm macro lens, you needed 100mm of extension. But now, with floating optical systems, you need to know what the **actual** focal length of this lens is at 1.0x, something I could not find after about an hour searching photo.net and the internet. Anyone know? After the fact, I calculated that the **actual** focal length of the 100mm/2.8L at 1.0x was in fact 100mm -- which I frankly don't believe. (I'm actually pretty decent at math.)<br>