Nissin Di866 Mark II VS Nikon SB700

cameracrack

<p>Hi<br>

I was at the PDN PhotoPlus Expo yesterday in NYC. I am just starting out with lighting and I have been looking to buy my first lighting equipment without breaking the bank. I stumbled on the Nissin booth. They demo'd the Nissin Di866 Mark II and I was wow'd! I really like the ease of use.<br>

<br />I already own a Sigma Super DG610 and I was going to buy the Nikon SB700 until I saw the Nissin. So I am just wondering what your opinions are.</p>

<p>Not knowing for what camera ? and how you intend to use multiple flashes, is hard to help you.</p>

<p>If by any chance you have a Nikon CLS compatible camera, then the SB700 would be the best from your selection, and not breaking the bank.</p>

<p>You will need one flash that is truly Nikon CLS, or else, you will wonder what you are missing in the 3rd party flashes, that usually implement some limited set of features.</p>

<p>Having owned the baby brother, the 622 mk.2, I'm quite impressed with the Nissins. What they give you is a simpler interface and more power compared to the Nikons. Based on the reivew at speedlights.net the 866 works failry well in CLS mode. Had no issues controlling the 622 from my D300 in CLS. Unless you are looking to use some of the advanced features like HSS the Nissin will give you more bang for the buck.<br>

I feel for general strobing use it's the better deal.</p>

<p>I have the Nissin Di866 MkI. It works superbly with my D700, full CLS operation included, as well as offering Auto FP high-speed synch. You also get other features like Aperture-auto mode not offered by current Nikon speedlights and the Nissin is considerably more powerful than the SB-700.</p>