12 mpxls dslr vs imacon vs scancafe

<p>Hi. I have a lot of slides, velvia 50 and e100gx, and I would like to scan them with the best possible quality, in order to produce a digital file to be printed at abour 13X9" at 254 ppi print resolution ( contone printer). 3 years ago I started shooting digital, Nikon D90. I would ask you a suggestion about the scanning service and equipment to obtain those great scans, at least to produce the same quality as a D90 raw file. The lab I send my digital files to be printed has an Imacon virtual drum scanner. I guess the quality is great, but the price per scan is very high. The alternative idea is to send my slides frames to scancafe in India, the prices seem to be very interesting. For 35 mm slides, in their special service line, they can make 4000 dpi scans with their Noritsu virtual drum. How can these scanner compare to imacon scans ? And , in the end, how do these 2 scanning solutions compare to 12 mpxls raw files in order to print a 13"x9" ? Thanks, bye. Marco</p>

<p>13 x 9 inches (which is approximately a 9X enlargement for 35mm) @ 254 dpi reqires an approximate 9 x 254 = 2300 dpi scan. This close to the optimum attainable on the Epson V700/750. Consequently a 4000 dpi scan on the Noritsu should theoretically be better. However, there are factors other than scanning density to take into account.</p>
Tony Evans

<p>Marco, expecting slide scans to have the "same quality" as a D90 raw file is not realistic. Scans from slides (especially Kodachrome) will almost always yeild a more contrasty, lower dynamic range image (on screen) than a DSLR image.</p>

<p>How the scans are tweaked, post-scan, will be a big factor in your satisfaction. Consider ordering scans with no edits, in tif format, so that you can do all post scan adjustments yourself.</p>

<p>However 4000 PPI <em>resolution </em>will be more than enough for a 13x19 print. A 35MM scan done at 4000 PPI is about 5500 pixels wide on the long side.</p>