First Attempt

kev_400d

<p>Hey all, </p>

<p>Your advice is much appreciated! </p>

<p><strong>The Situation</strong><br>

The company I work for are designing a new website and we've decided to have a "meet the team" page on the website. For this we need a pic of each team member. The company holds images of each team member but they are truly terrible (P&S, inbuilt flash, random background, etc.). There is no budget for a pro so I have agreed to take pictures for the new website...<br>

Seemed like a good idea at the time but now I'm getting nervous. <br>

"photo shoot" is Tue / Wed (28th/29th) so advice before then is much appreciated! </p>

<p><strong>My Experience</strong><br>

I'm an amateur! I've been interested in photography for a long time and have been shooting with a DSLR for about 4 years. I find the physics of photography comes easier to me than the creative side. I have been shooting with hot-shoe flash for a couple of years. <br>

My flash technique is: point the flash at the ceiling, use an aperture that gives adequate DOF (usually between f/2.8 and f/8) and a shutter speed between 50 and 200 depending how fast the subject is moving and how much background I want. <br>

I am generally happy with the results. The only thing I am unsure of is that using AWB tends to result in slightly warm images.</p>

<p><strong>My Equipment</strong><br>

Camera: Canon 400D<br>

Lenses: 18-55 (kit), 55-200 (kit), 50 1.8, 28 1.8<br>

Flash: 430 EX II<br>

Tripods: various<br>

Misc: 30" Shoot-through umbrella, 3m straight TTL flash cord, tripod to umbrella/hot-shoe adapter, 24" circular reflector. </p>

<p><strong>My Plan </strong><br>

My plan is to use a projector screen as a neutral backdrop. Tripod-mount the flash to shoot through the umbrella positioned to the left of the camera, pose the subject body and shoulders towards the flash, face towards the (tripod mounted) camera. I plan to let TTL do it's job, take some test shots and use FEC if needed. </p>